Accessibility links

Renewable energy projections as published in the National Renewable Energy Action Plans of the European member states

This report presents an overview of all data that have been published in the National Renewable Energy Action Plans (NREAPs) so far. At the time of releasing the document (September 2010), 19 out of 27 European Member States had the NREAP available at the transparency platform on renewable energy. All these countries have been covered in this report.

The Renewable Energy Directive addresses various subjects related to the development of renewable energies in the European Member States, among others the legally binding share of renewable energy in gross final energy consumption. In Article 4 of the Directive each member state is requested to provide a National Renewable Energy Action Plan (NREAP).

In order to draft this plan, a template was published by the Commission. Each member state is requested to complete a set of tables in this template on how it expects to meet its 2020 target, including the technology mix and the trajectory to reach it. The current report makes use of the fact that these tables have been defined in a consistent way. All data have been collected from the NREAP documents and they are available as a data report (this report), a database containing all data from the NREAPs (in text format) and a set of figures from the data report (in PDF and PNG). The purpose has been to allow easy comparison for further analysis by the audience .

The NREAPs cover:

  • individual renewable energy targets for the electricity, heating and cooling, and transport sectors
  • the planned mix of different renewable technologies
  • policy measures to achieve national targets including cooperation between local, regional, and national authorities
  • any planned statistical transfers and/or joint projects with other countries
  • national policies to develop biomass resources
  • measures to ensure that biofuels used to meet renewable energy targets are in compliance with the EU’s sustainability criteria

The countries considered are:

  • Austria,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Cyprus,
  • Germany,
  • Denmark,
  • Greece,
  • Spain,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Ireland,
  • Italy,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Malta,
  • The Netherlands,
  • Portugal,
  • Sweden,
  • Slovenia and
  • The United Kingdom.

The report highlights a set of cross-sections of the database that has been compiled from the NREAP documents.

Read Renewable energy projections as published in the National Renewable Energy Action Plans of the European Union member states.


Access the underlying database and figures from the report.